Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: September, 2016

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Sep 26, 2016

This week we celebrate our 100th episode. We talk about the Maui costume controversy, the return of the Disneyland Annual Pass for Southern California residents, and why there won't be any hairy chests in the new, live-action Beauty and the Beast. 

Plus, we have a special episode within an episode. And we reminisce on 100 episodes of Disney movie magic. That and much more. For the week of September 26, 2016, this is Episode 100 of The Disney Movie Review.

 

Here's more information on why Disney decided to pull the costume for Maui.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/news/moana-disney-pulls-movie-costume-931980

Disneyland is bringing back its annual pass for Southern Californians

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-disney-passes-20160922-snap-story.html

Is Every last inch of Gaston covered with hair? The world may never know.

http://www.express.co.uk/entertainment/films/713612/Beauty-and-the-Beast-Luke-Evans-Gaston-chest-Disney-banned-Emma-Watson-Dan-Stevens

If you've never heard Kristin's show, "Mouseflicks," you're going to want to take a listen to this.

https://mouseflicks.wordpress.com/

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

Sep 19, 2016

This week, Moana gets an official trailer and we are definitely smelling what Maui is cooking. Disney makes a deal with Turner for the TV Rights of Star Wars, but did they get enough money? The Dr. Strange "whitewashing" controversy enters a new chapter and did Disney just make a hire that could lead to the next CEO? I think so. Plus, what the heck happened to the show last week? That and much, much more. For the week of September 19, 2016, this is Episode 99 of The Disney Movie Review.

If you happen to struggle with depression, check out this link.

http://www.helpguide.org/articles/depression/dealing-with-depression.htm

Moana Trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LKFuXETZUsI

Turner Networks will be the exclusive home of Star Wars on cable in a $200 million deal.

http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2016/09/14/turner-makes-major-star-wars-movie-rights-deal.html

New Dr.  Strange clip

https://youtu.be/Yfv1VnqC3Bo

Dr. Strange Director Scott Derekson is commenting on the Tilda Swinton Casting.

http://www.dailynews.com/arts-and-entertainment/20160909/how-benedict-cumberbatchs-doctor-strange-will-bend-minds

Disney made a new hire that could lead to a new CEO.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/09/17/business/media/disney-selects-rosenblum-to-head-tv-business-unit.html?_r=0&referer=https:/www.google.com/

Michael Giacchino to replace Alexandre Desplat as composer on Rogue one.

http://io9.gizmodo.com/three-months-from-release-rogue-one-a-star-wars-story-1786691696

 

Sep 5, 2016

Summer is officially over. We take a look at Disney's box-office and why some think next year will be pretty bad. Disney also gets accused of wiping all of the Christian out of Queen of Katwe. And why ESPN cares what their audience thinks, but Disney World doesn’t. For the week of Sept. 5, 2016, this is episode 98 of the Disney Movie Review.

Going to Disney soon? Contact Kristin to make sure you are getting the best deal!

http://www.goofygetaways.com/kristin/

Is Queen of Katwe Christian Enough?

http://deadline.com/2016/08/queen-of-katwe-faith-based-marketing-disney-plan-1201810960/

Does Disney care too much about what their audience thinks? Skip Bayless thinks so.

http://www.latimes.com/sports/sportsnow/la-sp-sn-skip-bayless-fox-shannon-sharpe-20160829-snap-story.html

Beauty and the Beast comes out September 6th. Check out some bonus feature clips.

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/09/01/beauty-and-the-beast-25th-anniversary-exclusive-clip

Check out the video of Thor and Daryll

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1_v76eV55B8

The Rogue One toy line is hitting shelves Sept 30.

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/rogue-one-a-star-wars-924515

If you have a spare $80, check out this Star Wars Stormtrooper Helmet

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/star-wars-stormtrooper-helmet-sale-924818

Here's the song we closed out to.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RAzRlHE0naY

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1