Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: May, 2016

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

May 30, 2016

This week, it’s our spoiler review of Alice: Through the Looking Glass. How does this one compare to the 2010 version...or the 1950's version for that matter? Does the movie’s point about time hit home or fall flat? Plus, a very special guest joins us to talk about the new Beauty and the Beast teaser. That and much more. For the week of May 30, this is Episode 85 of The Disney Movie Review.

Here is the Link to the three minute, non-spoiler review on YouTube.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZPnHeH0hFGg

Check out the Beauty and the Beast teaser.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c38r-SAnTWM

HUGE thanks to Laura Wilcox for coming on the show. Here is Laura's awesome blog post on the Beauty and the Beast teaser.

https://astoldbylaura.wordpress.com/2016/05/23/we-need-to-talk-about-the-new-beauty-and-the-beast-trailer/

Want to be on the show? Send me an email at TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com.

Check out the new Finding Dory trailer.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKJA-VLpiCo

Laura Wilcox is an up and coming author with great reviews on Amazon. Buy one of her two books!

http://www.amazon.com/L.-A.-Wilcox/e/B00JFCD7W2/ref=dp_byline_cont_ebooks_1 

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

May 23, 2016

Disney is off to a lightning fast start this summer, but do they have what it takes to last the entire season? Disney has placed all of its eggs in one Virtual Reality basket and I have a hot Disney stock tip for you that is free because I love you. For the week of May 23, this is episode 84 of The Disney Movie Review

 

Here is the link to the Walt Disney Family Museum

http://waltdisney.org/

Article on the success of Captain America

http://www.ibtimes.com/captain-america-civil-war-becomes-highest-grossing-movie-2016-how-much-has-film-made-2371411

Check out the new BFG Trailer (July 1)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=y1fZg0hhBX8

Here is some of the reaction to the movie

http://www.newsweek.com/bfg-does-spielberg-disney-tall-tale-measure-460229

 

Friend from HS - Alex Billington - said it “Lacks imagination and Story”

http://www.firstshowing.net/2016/cannes-2016-steven-spielbergs-the-bfg-lacks-the-magic-or-a-story/

 

Queen of Katwe Trailer (September)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?annotation_id=571c09b5-0000-238d-adeb-94eb2c08d19a&feature=iv&src_vid=y1fZg0hhBX8&v=z4l3-_yub5A

 

Disney's Virtual Reality move 

http://www.engadget.com/2016/05/16/disney-puts-all-of-its-movie-vr-experiences-in-a-single-app/

 

Here is the CBS article I reference

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/for-disney-better-days-could-be-coming/

 

Beauty and the beast trailer could come soon.

http://www.hypable.com/beauty-and-the-beast-2017-trailer-release-date/

Disney has promoted a new production VP

http://deadline.com/2016/05/disney-studios-tendo-nagenda-promotion-production-evp-1201757650/

Spielberg says Guardians of the Galaxy is his Favorite Superhero movie

http://www.melty.com/guardians-of-the-galaxy-2-steven-spielberg-reveals-that-guardians-is-his-favorite-superhero-movie-a5280.html

Marvel is under fire for apparently axing its first woman villain because of toy sales.

http://www.vanityfair.com/hollywood/2016/05/iron-man-3-villain-rebecca-hall

Darth Vader in Rogue One

http://www.movienewsguide.com/rogue-one-a-star-wars-story-leaked-photos-tease-darth-vader-plays-major-role/212148

The Disney Channel celebrates its 100th original movie with a digital album

http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/disney-channel-celebrates-100th-movie-new-album/

Walt Disney Records celebrates 60 years

http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/walt-disney-records-celebrates-60-years/

Iger says he is excited about Hulu’s plans to launch live TV service

http://variety.com/2016/biz/news/disney-bob-iger-hulu-1201777739/

Quick Quiz Question: 

What is the name of the villain in Iron Man 3

Check out "Thick Skin" by Leona Lewis

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zvvRV8IOFu0

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

 

 

May 16, 2016

This week we break down Captain America: Civil War. We take a look at the arguments and motivations for both Captain America and Iron Man. We break down each character individually and the role they play, including the introductions of Spider-man and Black Panther. Plus, the two things Marvel did that will change the MCU forever.

Here's the link to the spoiler free review

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_HnuTUmymxc

Here is the article about CG in Captain America: Civil War.

http://www.theverge.com/2016/5/12/11664554/captain-america-civil-war-cgi-visual-effects-spider-man-interview

Take a listen to "Left Hand Free" by Alt-J

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NRWUoDpo2fo

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

 

May 9, 2016

This week Ken and Cameron talkabout death in Disney movies. Why do the parents always seem to diein Disney movies? What is the difference between a good death andabad death? Does Disney go too far sometimes? We talk about all ofit on episode 2 of The Disney Movie Review.

From Ken: Hey, I'm out of townfor a wedding this week, but we'll be back next week with a reviewof Captain America: Civil War. I know I said I wasgoing to take this week off, but I really love doing this and youare amazing to talk to! So sue me! I'm sure I'll take a week offsometime! ;-)

Thisarticlegoes into much more depth than I could on the Podcast. Checkitout. It is amazing!

http://www.hopesandfears.com/hopes/culture/film/216573-disney-single-parents-dead-mothers

THANKYOU!

Thank youforlistening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, butyouchose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. Ifyouenjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends onyourpreferred social media site.

 

You cansupportThe Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt atdistshirts.com orbetter yet, submit a design on the site and wewill split theprofit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to makesure I can keepdelivering high quality content everyweek.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than fiveepisodes,welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what youhear,visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get moreDisneyMovie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Findanotherpodcast you love and support the content youlove!

Contactme:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

May 2, 2016

This week Disney released the dates for some of its newest live action movies and only about five will make the cut. Marvel released a statement about the whitewashing controversy of Dr. Strange. Comcast makes a play to buy Dreamworks. That and much more. For the week of May 2, this is Episode 81 of the Disney Movie Review.

 

Here are the dates for the new Disney movies.

http://variety.com/2016/film/news/disney-claims-dates-for-several-new-movies-confirms-jungle-book-2-mary-poppins-sequel-1201760227/

Here is the Dr. Strange Trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lt-U_t2pUHI

Here is Marvel's statement about the "whitewashing" controversy

http://www.people.com/article/marvel-responds-tilda-swinton-doctor-strange-casting-controversy

Here is the article about Lupita N’yongo and Idris Elba being cast in movies but you can’t see their faces

https://www.yahoo.com/movies/why-won-t-hollywood-let-180700413.html

Here is the interview with Tilda Swinton

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/doctor-strange-asian-whitewashing-controversy-886762

Here is the song I shake my hair from Disney Junior

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFMYIympS7U

 Here is more information about Comcast buying Dreamworks

 

http://www.fastcompany.com/3059362/why-comcast-buying-dreamworks-animation-is-a-major-threat-to-disney

FAST FLICKS

Disneyland Resort Donates $60,000 to Pacific Marine Mammal Center in Laguna Beach, California on Earth Day

https://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/2016/04/disneyland-resort-donates-60000-to-pacific-marine-mammal-center-in-laguna-beach-california-on-earth-day/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+DisneyParks+%28Disney+Parks+Blog%29

 Don't buy your kids a blue tang. Go to www.MyRightFish.com 

http://www.orlandosentinel.com/business/brinkmann-on-business/os-finding-dory-blue-tang-20160428-story.html

Disney is going to debut it’s new short “Inner Workings” in June

 http://www.slashfilm.com/disney-inner-workings-short/

Captain America Civil War is impressing audiences overseas

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2016/04/28/box-office-captain-america-civil-war-nabs-marvelous-14-9m-overseas-debut/#47e365bd2860

Kevin feige confirmed Marvel is in control of Spider-Man

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=172&v=qVh86DxDfCg

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences will present 25th Anniversary Screening of Beauty and the Beast:

http://www.playbill.com/article/angela-lansbury-will-be-part-of-25th-anniversary-celebration-of-beauty-and-the-beast-film

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1