Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: 2017

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Dec 11, 2017

This week we are inches away from a final deal for Disney to buy 21st Century Fox. So we take an in-depth look at the winners, the losers, and the things that are just too soon to tell. Plus, Kristin provides an exclusive look at how this deal could forever change the theme parks. And Olaf's Frozen Adventure is leaving theaters, which has made some fans more upset than they were in the first place. That and much more this week on Episode 161 of The Disney Movie Review.

Dec 4, 2017

This week we review Pixar’s new original film Coco. We talk about the music, animation and whether or not we cried, (spoiler alert: we did). Ed breaks down the religious plot hole he found and whether or not it ruins the movie. And of course we talk about Olaf’s Frozen Adventure. That and much, much more. For the week of December 4, this is episode 159 of The Disney Movie Review.

Nov 27, 2017

John Lasseter, Chief Creative Officer at Pixar and Walt Disney Animation, has taken a six-month sabbatical after allegations of sexual harassment were reported in the Hollywood Reporter. This week we do an unplanned episode to talk about the allegations, the sabbatical, and where Pixar and Disney go from here.

Sorry for the low-quality sound. Again, this wasn't planned. Also, Kristin was out doing Black Friday shopping. Forgot to mention that in the episode.

Nov 13, 2017

It was a rough news week for Disney. The one bright spot was a story about how Disney and 21st Century Fox have been in on-again, off-again talks for its studio division. That news was largely positive. The rest of the week - not so much. Thor: Ragnarok became the 14th Marvel movie to pass $500 million at the global box office, but that news was overshadowed by Disney's incredibly misguided blackout of the LA Times. And let's not even get started on Disney's disappointing 4th quarter results.

That and much, much more. For the week of November 13, this is episode 157 of The Disney Movie Review.

Nov 6, 2017

This week it’s our review of Thor: Ragnarok - the 17th movie in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. We do the first part completely spoiler free and then we get into spoilers. We talk about how Director Taika Watiti made Marvel’s first real comedy. We also talk through all of the characters and the one line that made us all see Asgard in the Real World. Plus we give our final ratings and talk about where the MCU goes from here! That and much, much more. For the week of Nov. 6, this is Episode 156 of The Disney Movie Review.

Nov 6, 2017

This Week Disney released the full cast for The Lion King and it includes Beyonce as Nala. Lucasfilm is making some hefty demands of movie theaters that want to show Star Wars: The Last Jedi. Some investors say Disney’s new streaming app could be worth $25 billion within 10 years after launching. Plus Kristin has an update on crowds in Disney World and construction at Hollywood Studios.

All that and much more. For the week of November 6, this is episode 155 of The Disney Movie Review.

Oct 30, 2017

This week we talk about Disney cancelling Gigantic - their definitive retelling of the Jack and the Beanstalk Story. A new study says Disney films are a great way for parents to talk to their children about death. Lucasfilm announced the title for the new Han Solo film and fan excitement is so low. That and much, much more. For the week of October 30, this is episode 154 of the Disney Movie Review.

Oct 16, 2017

This week Lucasfilm released the full trailer for The Last Jedi and our hopes are high! Disney partnered with the other studios to launch a new App and will end Disney Movies Anywhere. ESPN suspended host Jemele Hill after she told people to Boycott advertisers for the Dallas Cowboys. And, it is raining Cats and Dogs at Disney world. For the week of October 16, 2017, this is episode 153 of The Disney Movie Review.

Oct 9, 2017

I do my best to keep the "outside world" separate from this podcast. But I couldn't act like everything was normal this week. Nothing was normal about the what happened in Las Vegas. And I kept hearing the same thing over and over: "Nothing is going to change."

The reason behind that statement was that Congress won't do anything to change the laws. The right won't talk to the left, and the left won't talk to the right. But to me, the problem is bigger than that. We, as Americans, won't even talk to one another. We demonize people who don't agree with our beliefs. Anyone who is for gun control is a "leftist liberal hippy," while anyone who opposes it is a "conservative gun clinger."

We, as Americans, won't even talk to one another. We demonize people who don't agree with our beliefs. Anyone who is for gun control is a "leftist liberal hippy," while anyone who opposes it is a "conservative gun clinger."

This week I wanted to do my small part to try to change that. This week, we take a detour from Disney to talk about politics and guns and race. We talk with and listen to one another. We ask questions. We don't all agree or end up singing "It's a Small World" at the end, but we hear each other out and come to a better understanding of each person's position.

If you want to skip this episode, I get it. We'll be back to Disney next week. But please take a second to talk with someone you might disagree with this week. We can't change anything if we don't talk to one another.

Oct 2, 2017

A former Disney Imagineer is working with AMC to revolutionize movies. Disney is bringing exclusive behind the scenes content to the movie pre-show. Disney launches a new app that gives us a sneak peek of what their new streaming app could look like...and it is awesome. For the week of Oct 2, 2017, this is episode 151.

Sep 25, 2017

This week, Disney is being sued over visual effects in the live action Beauty and the Beast and two incredibly successful Marvel films. The Last Jedi may get a new trailer in a few weeks, but some fans are focused on JJ Abrams. And summer was bad, but are we seeing a great big beautiful tomorrow at the box office? That and much, much more. For the week of Sept. 25, this is episode 150 of The Disney Movie Review.

Sep 18, 2017

Ed and Kristin give us a break down of their recent trips to Disney World and their thoughts on Pandora.Ed and Kristin give us a break down of their recent trips to Disney World and their thoughts on Pandora.

Sep 18, 2017

This week Lucasfilm has called on JJ Abrams to direct Star Wars Episode 9, but is he really what the franchise needs?

Pixar released a new trailer for Coco and gets us all excited for Thanksgiving.

Disney plans to release 25 films in the next 27 months, and that's just the beginning. Plus we have a good discussion about the current state of the Disney company and whether Bob Iger should be let go. That and much, much more. For the week of September 18, this is episode 149 of The Disney Movie Review.

P.S. Don't forget to check out the Bonus content about our review of Pandora.

Sep 11, 2017

This week Disney announced it will pull Marvel and Star Wars from Netflix, which will totally remove their content from the platform. In addition, Bob Iger said he expects their profit to be flat year-over-year which made the stock drop. ANOTHER Star Wars film loses ANOTHER director and Vegas gives the odds on who will replace him. And Disney is not whitewashing the live action Aladdin, but some people think they are. Plus, we talk about those potential names for Hollywood Studios. That and much, much more. For the week of September 11, this is episode 148 of The Disney Movie Review

Aug 28, 2017

This week Disney is staying out of a plan to bring movies to customers faster and Zootopia 2 gets confirmed. Plus we give a quick overview on how you can get in on the fun of Force Friday 2. For the week of August 28, 2017, this is episode 147 of The Disney Movie Review.

Aug 14, 2017

This week we break down Disney's controversial decision to leave Netflix. We put you in Bob Iger's chair and take a deep dive into all the factors that led to this move. Then we take a look at the clues that let us know what Disney's new service might look like. And we can't talk about streaming without at least mentioning ESPN and the raw deal they are getting from the NFL. That and much, much more. For the week of August 14, this is episode 145 of The Disney Movie Review.

Aug 7, 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming hasn’t gotten into the swing of things at the box office and is much lower than some other films. Why are audiences staying away from the movie? Plus, we talk about why it may not matter in a few weeks. Disney World is offering signing bonuses to future cast members and providing a few work-from-home opportunities to people in select U.S. states. Then we talk about what it takes to be a true Disney fan. That and much, much more. For the week of August 7, this is episode 144 of The Disney Movie Review.

Jul 31, 2017

This week Marvel releases a trailer for Thor Ragnarok and tells us what’s taking so long on that Avengers Infinity War teaser. IMAX is starting to leave 3-D behind but does this mean Disney will follow suit? And Disney doesn’t want you to save for your vacations anymore...at least not with them.

Jul 24, 2017

When they announced the first D23 Expo, it became an instant bucket-list item for me. I finally got my wish at the 2017 Expo and overall it was great. For first-timers like me, walking onto the convention floor at the D23 Expo is an experience unlike any other. But there are still some things that no one tells you about D23. That's why we are doing this episode.

If you are even remotely curious about attending D23, listen to this episode first. We'll tell you how you can skip the lines at D23. We'll also answer the question every East Coast Disney fan asks every two years - should you skip your Disney World Vacation to go to D23?

Jul 24, 2017

This week we do a little recap on what we think are the four biggest movie stories that came out of D23.We talk about the return of the Disney Princesses, the new documentary that celebrates Disney songs, the only trailer that was publicly released from D23, and the casting decisions of the live-action Aladdin. Plus, we talk a little about the parks for good measure. That and much, much more. For the week of July 24, 2017, this is Episode 141 of The Disney Movie Review.

Jul 17, 2017

This week Ken was out at the D23 Expo, so we put our Disney brains to the test to win prizes for listeners! We ask and (sometimes) answer 32 questions about characters, quotes, odd knowledge, and random Disney facts.

If you think you know Disney, hang on my friend because this is the episode where we separate the men from the boys.  

For the week of July 17, this is Episode 140 of The Disney Movie Review.

Jul 10, 2017

This week it’s our spoiler review of Spider-Man Homecoming. We talk about where this movie fits in the Avengers Timeline. Ed also tells us about the large easter egg many people are missing that sets up future Spider-Man movies. And somebody on this show thinks this movie is perfect, and it’s probably not who you think it is. That and much, much more. For the week of July 10, this is Episode 139 of The Disney Movie Review.

Jul 3, 2017

Marvel tried to save money on their new TV series InHumans and the fans definitely noticed. Walt Disney World is offering discounts so large that it may point to a larger drop in attendance than we originally thought. And hold the phone is ESPN actually growing? Or is it our imagination? Plus we may or may not wants the red head. For the week of July 3, 2017, this is Episode 138 of The Disney Movie Review.

** My apologies for the delay this week. I lost power at home for a while, which messed with my schedule. **

Jun 26, 2017

This week Lucasfilm fires the directors for the Han Solo standalone film. Disney has another Frozen short that is slated to be released with Coco. We’re pretty sure we’ve figured out the mystery of that untitled live-action fairy tale slated for Summer 2017. Also, we answer a few listener questions about Disney's international properties. That and much, much more. For the week of June 26, 2017 this is episode 137 of the Disney Movie Review.

Show notes are on www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/137

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Email: theDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Jun 19, 2017

This week we sit down with Addison and Audrey to talk about Cars 3, Lou, and Frozen. It's a great conversation and we hope you enjoy it!

1 2 3 Next »