Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: October, 2016

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Oct 24, 2016

This week Disney reached its highest box office ever and I’m betting they will peak next year. Marvel released the teaser trailer for Guardians of the Galaxy: Awesome Mix Tape 2 and Disney Animation releases a clip from Moana. Plus, Lucasfilm is suing a fan over cybersquatting. That and much, much more. For the week of October 24, this is Episode 104 of The Disney Movie Review.

Next week we won't have a show. Happy Halloween in advance! 

Disney reached it highest international box office ever.

http://variety.com/2016/film/news/captain-america-civil-war-finding-dory-disney-box-office-record-1201891155/

Guardians Teaser

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2WhQcK-Zaok

New Moana Clip

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=88_Ailmf8Z4

Lucasfilm is suing a fan

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/thr-esq/disneys-lucasfilm-sues-academy-teaches-938781?utm_source=Sailthru&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=THR+Breaking+News_now_2016-10-17+08%3A57%3A25_ehayden&utm_term=hollywoodreporter_breakingnews

Wanda hires EX-Disney Theme Park Exec.

http://www.businessinsider.com/r-chinas-wanda-hires-ex-disney-exec-to-lead-theme-park-drive-source-2016-10

Dr. Strange is tracking to open to between $55-75 million

http://collider.com/doctor-strange-box-office-opening-weekend/#tracking

James Gunn said he’d like to see a movie about Nebula

http://screencrush.com/gunn-guardians-nebula-spinoff/

Marvel is getting a day at sea on Disney Cruise Lines

https://disneycruise.disney.go.com/onboard-activities/marvel-at-sea/?linkId=30199620

Contact Kristin for more information.

https://www.facebook.com/kristingoofygetaways

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

Oct 17, 2016

This week Lucasfilm released the final trailer for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story. We break it down and ask whether those reshoots still matter. The internet went crazy over rumors of a white guy stealing the show in the new Mulan movie. But there is more to this story. And James Gunn promises Guardians of the Galaxy 2 will blow away your expectations for women in a Marvel movie. That and much, much more. For the week of October 17, this is episode 103 of The Disney Movie Review.

Check out the final trailer for Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sC9abcLLQpI

Don't just take it from our interview. Listen to what Lauren Hynek and Elizabeth Martin think about women in film on this podcast.

http://www.chickswhoscript.com/podcast/forty-one-lauren-hynek-elizabeth-martin-and-magic-realization-page-87

Check out James Gunn's Facebook post.

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/10/13/guardians-galaxy-james-gunn-women-sequel

Here is more on the bechdel test.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ueOqYebVhtc

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Oct 10, 2016

This week, the live-action version of Mulan now has a release date. The teaser drops for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales, but where is Captain Jack? Plus, we put on our investigative hats to try to figure out why Queen of Katwe launched with a horrible $2.5 million box office. And is there anything Disney wouldn't do in order to succeed in China? We debate it. That and much, much more. For the week of Oct 10, this is episode 102 of The Disney Movie Review.

The Live Action Mulan is set to come out on Nov 2, 2018

Here is the teaser for Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead men Tell No Tales

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1xo3af_6_Jk

Here is more information on the visitor problem in Shanghai

http://money.cnn.com/2016/10/05/media/disney-shanghai-china-visitors/

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Oct 3, 2016

This week it's our spoiler review of The Queen of Katwe, Disney's newest movie. Is the movie really too positive as some critics have said? What can we learn from a chess-playing teenager from the slums of Kampala, Uganda? And what sort of awesome will the new Lion King live-action film be? That and much, much more. For the week of October 3, this is Episode 101 of The Disney Movie Review.

 

E-mail me if you are interested in my friend's condo. We can get you a week in Disney World for less than $2,000. thedisneymoviereview@gmail.com.

Here is the link to the song #1 Spice.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DZ1OblYm5YY

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

1