Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: July, 2015

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Jul 27, 2015

Ever wonder how Disney is able to take movies and bring them to life? That's the work of Disney Imagineers like Brian Collins. This week we interview Collins, a former Show Writer in Walt Disney Imagineering. He worked on such movie classics as The Great Movie Ride and The Jungle Cruise and many other attractions.

On this episode Brian will answer the questions:

  • How does Disney keep secrets before their movies and attractions open?
  • What are the three types of imagineers?
  • How do you take a movie and make an attraction in Disney World?
  • What are the ways a show writer influences your experience on a ride?
  • The one detail you have never seen on The Great Movie Ride...and why you never will see it.
  • The one thing he wants guests to do when they are in a Disney park
Rate, Subscribe and Review the podcast at http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes. Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 27, 2015

This week on episode 29 of The Disney Movie Review, Pixar releases its first full-length trailer for The Good Dinosaur, but the trailer has no dialogue. That’s not an accident and we’ll tell you why. Ant-Man opened with more than $58 Million last weekend beating Universal Pictures’ Minions. We look into the formula Marvel used to beat Minions. GQ magazine pranks Lucasfilm and there is nothing they can do about it. ESPN is in a lot of financial trouble and I am one big reason why. That and much, much more.

Rate, Subscribe and Review the podcast at http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes.

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 20, 2015

This Week on episode 28 of The Disney Movie Review, Marvel’s Ant-Man hits theaters with mixed reviews. Our panel breaks down how close Ant-Man stuck to the comics. We also break down whether it can cure the problem of super hero fatigue. And we dive into that end credits scene and what it means for the Marvel Cinematic Universe.

Rate, Subscribe and Review the podcast at http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes.

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 17, 2015

This Week on episode 27 of The Disney Movie Review, Marvel’s Ant-Man hits theaters with mixed reviews. Is it worth your time? We talk about it on this episode.

Rate, Subscribe and Review the podcast at http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes.

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

 

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 13, 2015

This week on Episode 26 of The Disney Movie Review we talk with screenwriters Lauren Hynek and Elizabeth Martin -- the two writers currently working on the live-action version of Mulan.

Like what you hear? Rate us on iTunes! http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes.

Here is what we talk about in this episode

  • How Elizabeth and Lauren worked their way from writing plays in high school all the way to Hollywood.
  • What makes Mulan such a great story
  • Is Hollywood too unoriginal right now?
  • What goes wrong when you see a bad Hollywood movie.
  • The most important thing you should know about screenwriting in Hollywood.

Think spoilers ruin the movie? Think again. Here's the psychological proof.

https://www.psychologytoday.com/blog/thriving101/201108/the-spoiler-paradox

Follow Elizabeth Martin and Lauren Hynek on Twitter.

https://twitter.com/MartinandHynek

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 13, 2015

This week on Episode 25 of The Disney Movie Review, special guest Cameron Jones stops by to talk about Lucasfilm announcing a Han Solo origin film. We talk about why Chris Pratt won’t be in it. Disney released a trailer for the new movie The Finest Hours. What we know about the new film.  Pixar’s Inside Out goes Toe to Toe with Universal’s Minions and we get you ready for Marvel’s Ant-Man.

 

Like what you hear? Rate us on iTunes! http://www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com/itunes.

Here is what else we talk about:

  • A “spoiler” non-spoiler controversy for Ant-Man.
  • Sanjay’s Super Team Debuted at Comic-Con.

  •  

    The Hollywood Reporter confirmed Disney is making a Prince Charming movie

  • The Force Awakens behind the scenes footage
Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

 

Jul 6, 2015

This week we talk with Sound Effects Wrangler Steve Lee about the Wilhelm Scream, a sound effect that has been around for more than 50 years in Hollywood and has connected all of the Disney properties even before they were purchased by Disney.

In this episode we talk about:

  • How Steve Lee became a Sound Effects Wrangler in Hollywood

  • The History of the Wilhelm Scream and how it gets into movies.

  • The movies he placed it in and the times he was overruled

  • Will the Willhelm Scream ever die?

  • What has changed in Hollywood that he wishes hadn’t

  • What you need to know about being a Sound Effects Wrangler

Visit Steve Lee on his website:

http://www.hollywoodlostandfound.net/

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

Jul 6, 2015

This week on episode 23 of The Disney Movie Review we talk about Star Wars: The Force Awakens. A new Stormtrooper toy is giving keys to the plot of the film. Disney settled a copyright infringement lawsuit on the Frozen teaser trailer. In the parks, Disney bans selfie sticks, stops selling poop-shaped snacks and announces closures for Disney Quest  in Orlando’s Downtown Disney and The Magic of Disney Animation attraction in Hollywood Studios. That and much, much more.

Here's what we discuss:

 

  • A new stormtrooper toy is giving keys to the plot for Star Wars: The Force Awakens. Screencrush.com has some of the first images.
  • Disney settled its copyright infringement lawsuit on the Frozen teaser trailer.
  • Apple users can get an Inside Out GIF Keyboard. Android users can stew in Anger over the lack of fairness.
  • In honor of season two of Star Wars Rebels, Lucasfilm has announced a Star Wars Fan Art Contest:

That and much more!

Contact us:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Google+: https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117568401234149523089/+Thedisneymoviereview/posts

 

Email: TheDisneyMovieReview@gmail.com

 

1