Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: March, 2017

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Mar 27, 2017

This week, Disney is being sued over claims that it stole the idea, characters and dialogue for Zootopia. Also, a new streaming content competitor has popped up and it's led by a former Disney executive. Plus, Beauty and the Beast makes $500 million in 7 days, making it the sixth biggest seven-day movie opening of all time. That said, movie theaters are facing new pressure from studios to shorten the length between box office release and home video. And, oh yeah, Bob Iger's contract got extended through 2019. That and much, much more. For the week of March 27, 2017 this is episode 124 of The Disney Movie Review.

Support Funding for the Arts 

PeopleForTheArts.org

Disney is being sued for copyright infringement on Zootopia

http://fortune.com/2017/03/21/disney-zootopia-lawsuit/

Disney wasn't able to get the case thrown out here

http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/7/

Disney settled the Frozen Lawsuit here

http://www.thedisneymoviereview.com/23/

Did Disney create a new competitor by closing Maker Studios?

http://www.latimes.com/business/hollywood/la-fi-ct-pocketwatch-20170322-story.html

James Gun uses Facebook more than Donald Trump uses Twitter...and here's a poster

http://collider.com/guardians-of-the-galaxy-2-imax-poster/

Lefouston

https://youtu.be/TgeKZ2VN4pA

Deadline's interview with Sean Bailey

http://deadline.com/2017/03/beauty-and-the-beast-sean-bailey-disney-emma-watson-1202047710/

Cars 3 characters are going on a cross country tour

www.cars3tour.com

Sneak Peek at Happily Ever After

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EtkmOrytM_k

Here's information on Disney's Tax Bill

http://abcnews.go.com/Entertainment/wireStory/disney-universal-battle-tax-bill-florida-theme-parks-46324990

More on Bob's new contract.

http://variety.com/2017/biz/news/bob-iger-disney-ceo-extends-contract-july-2019-1202014760/

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Mar 20, 2017

This week, it’s our spoiler review of Beauty and the Beast. We talk about the lead actors, Emma Watson, Dan Stevens and Autotune. Plus Gay LeFou made his debut but did it really matter in the grand scheme of things? And how does this compare to the original? That and much much more. For the week of March 18, 2017, this is episode 123 of the Disney Movie Review.

NOTE: This week we go long. Way long. But it's Beauty and the Beast. It deserves it. Hope you enjoy it! 

Here's the thing with Quasimodo's lips

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uuIb7aUVOfM

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Mar 13, 2017

This week, Fans are mad that Thor: Ragnarok is going to be funny, but Director Taika Waititi is making it clear that he doesn’t really care. Someone thought it was a good idea to make a music video for Beauty and the Beast, but they were very wrong. Plus, Bob Iger quoted the musical Hamilton during the annual Shareholders meeting, so we made him a musical. That and much, much more. For the week of March 13, 2017 this is episode 122 of the Disney Movie Review.

 

Loki told Fandango that Thor Ragnarok is going to be the funniest Thor yet.

https://twitter.com/ErikDavis/status/833360198551085056

This caused fans to go crazy, but the Director didn't really care.

https://www.flickeringmyth.com/2017/02/thor-ragnarok-director-responds-to-concerns-over-the-films-comedic-tone/

Team Thor

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bPNBKT6JLSU

Beauty and the Beast Music Video

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=axySrE0Kg6k

We now know what Luke says to Rey (SPOILER!!!)

https://www.theguardian.com/film/2017/mar/09/star-wars-the-last-jedi-first-footage-disney-daisy-ridley-hamill-skywalker

More information on the Shareholder meeting

http://www.latimes.com/business/la-fi-ct-disney-shareholders-meeting-disney-board-rejects-two-proposals-form-1489006135-htmlstory.html

Here is that New York Times article about the Disney Channel 

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/10/arts/television/kids-are-getting-older-quicker-and-disney-tries-to-adapt.html

Beauty and the beast ticket sales could actually go past $166 million

http://fortune.com/2017/03/07/disney-beauty-beast-pre-sale/

Sam Jackson can’t go to Wakanda (Timecode -01:50)

https://www.facebook.com/siriusxm/videos/10155166904510929/

Thor: Ragnarok outfits

https://www.cnet.com/news/thor-ragnarok-chris-hemsworth-hair-entertainment-weekly/

New Cars characters and a new poster

http://people.com/movies/kerry-washington-cars-3-first-look/

Check out this podcast on Visual Effects

http://freakonomics.com/podcast/no-hollywood-ending-visual-effects-industry/

 

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Mar 6, 2017

This week is a jam-packed show as we try to catch up on two weeks of news! Does a gay LeFou really make sense for Beauty and the Beast? Disney marketing kicked into overdrive this week by releasing new trailers and footage for Guardians of the Galaxy Vol 2, Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales, and Cars 3. Plus we found out that Star Wars: The Last Jedi is plural and a new article details how Disney is making fans of the Expanded Universe (a.k.a. Legends) happy. That and much much more. For the week of March 6, 2017, this is episode 121 of The Disney Movie Review.

 

LeFou is Gay

https://www.nytimes.com/2017/03/01/movies/beauty-and-the-beast-director-talks-of-exclusively-gay-moment.html

 

Disney aired its First Gay Kiss

http://nypost.com/2017/03/01/disney-has-its-first-gay-kiss/

 

Here are the Beauty and the Beast clips 

(Belle) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nT1VQkTTT7M

(Dinner Invitation) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MKyp9Tx-NPY

(Gaston) https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1JG6f5_37tg

New Guardians Trailer (Release May 5)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=duGqrYw4usE

New Pirates Trailer (Release May 26)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hgeu5rhoxxY

New Cars 3 footage

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MYKmJJB3vFY

The Last Jedi is plural

http://www.foxnews.com/entertainment/2017/02/19/star-wars-last-jedi-title-confirmed-to-be-plural-and-fans-are-freaking-out.html

Shooting on Han Solo begins

http://www.starwars.com/news/han-solo-smuggler-scoundrel-hero-new-star-wars-story-begins

See how Lucasfilm is working with fans to include things from Legends into canon.

http://comicbook.com/2017/02/20/star-wars-lucasfilm-legends-expanded-universe-george-lucas/

 

Here's one of the articles on Maker 

https://digiday.com/media/disney-maker-studios/

There is a new Mary Poppins photo

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/entertainthis/2017/03/03/emily-blunt-mary-poppins-returns-first-look-photo/98704048/

 

Disney invented a room that can charge your cell phone wirelessly

http://www.computerworld.com/article/3173305/emerging-technology/disney-research-demonstrates-open-air-wireless-charging.html

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

1