Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: January, 2017

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Jan 30, 2017

This week we talk to James Monroe Iglehart - the genie from Disney’s Broadway production of Aladdin. We learn how he got the role even though at first he couldn’t get an audition, the biggest obstacle he had to conquer on his way to his dream, and the relationship advice he has for all the husbands out there. That and much, much more. For the week of January 30, 2017 this is episode 117 of The Disney Movie Review.

[powerpress]

Follow James on Instagram here

https://www.instagram.com/jmiglehart/?hl=en

 

Follow James on Twitter @jamesmiglehart

 

Here is more information on Howard Ashman's vision for Aladdin.

http://lostmediawiki.com/Aladdin_(Howard_Ashman's_Original_Treatment_of_Disney_Animated_Film;_1988)

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Jan 30, 2017

This week the Oscar nominations are out. What Disney films made it in and which ones got snubbed? Star Wars Episode 8 gets a title and for some reason it’s red. And we got a special request, so we’re talking about Black Panther. That and much, much more. For the week of January 30, 2017, this is Episode 116 of The Disney Movie Review.

Information on the Disney Oscar nominations

https://ohmy.disney.com/news/2017/01/24/the-2017-oscar-nominations-are-in/?cmp=smc%7C786836949

Here's information about Miramax's offers. 

https://www.statista.com/statistics/254669/film-studio-ranking-by-number-of-best-picture-academy-awards/

Here's that new Star Wars book that is coming out.

http://www.slashfilm.com/guardians-of-the-whills/

 

Here's more information on the Black Panther cast

http://collider.com/black-panther-cast-synopsis-filming/

 

Avengers Infinity War Begins Shooting

http://movieweb.com/avengers-infinity-war-logo-set-photo-sean-gunn/

 

Marvel Cruises are expanding

https://www.cosmicbooknews.com/content/disney-expands-marvel-cruise

 

Check out the Beauty and the Beast cast posters

http://collider.com/beauty-and-the-beast-cast-posters/#synopsis

Marvel Announces Avengers Video Game

https://www.comicbookmovie.com/video_games/video-games-marvel-announces-the-avengers-project-from-square-enix-a148476

Is Disney Infinity coming back?!?!

http://www.gamespot.com/articles/after-shutdown-disney-infinity-dev-reopens-to-make/1100-6447214/

 

Disney to release Korean Film

http://variety.com/2017/film/asia/disney-picks-up-yes-family-for-korea-release-1201970198/

 

Here's the information on the boy who sang Frozen songs during an avalanche.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2017/01/24/heroism-little-boy-sang-songs-told-stories-terrified-children/

Disney opens new restaurant 21 Royal

http://www.eater.com/2017/1/26/14398140/disneyland-21-royal-secret-restaurant-price-reservation

 

$1,250 per person?

Jan 23, 2017

This week, Celine Dion returns to Beauty and the Beast and we didn’t even have to write a petition, Lucasfilm won’t digitally recreate Princess Leia and Ed has an awesome theory about what they WILL do. And the Disney stock (and Bob Iger) are downgraded....or upgraded depending on who you believe. For the week of January 23, 2017, this is episode 115 of the Disney Movie Review.

 

Emma Watson turned down the role of Cinderella

http://movieweb.com/beauty-beast-why-emma-watson-chose-instead-cinderella/

 

Star Wars episode 8 Trailer to be released in April

http://mstarsnews.musictimes.com/articles/119234/20170117/star-wars-episode-8-spoilers-first-trailer-gets-april-release.htm

 

Princess Leia will not be digitally recreated for Episode 9

http://www.starwars.com/news/a-statement-regarding-new-rumors

Disney Stock Downgraded

http://www.fool.com/investing/2017/01/18/a-rare-downgrade-for-disney-what-you-need-to-know.aspx

Bob Iger's Bonus was reduced

http://money.cnn.com/2017/01/13/news/companies/disney-bob-iger-pay-cut/

Miles Morales will star in animated film AND wear the normal Spider-Man suit

http://www.cinemablend.com/news/1614200/sony-previewed-its-animated-spider-man-and-something-about-the-suit-caught-our-eye

 

Pixar released a video showcasing the connection between all of their movies.

http://jacksonville.com/entertainment/2017-01-19/video-disney-pixar-reveals-many-connections-between-its-movies

Disney released its own adult coloring book app

https://techcrunch.com/2017/01/19/disney-launches-its-own-adult-coloring-book-app/

 

Lightning McQueen will tell racers to start their engines

http://ew.com/movies/2017/01/19/cars-3-owen-wilson-daytona-500/

 

Cars 3 Trailer debuts at #1

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/lists/top-10-movie-trailers-weekly-cars-3-chips-boss-baby-966082

 

A guy made a Belle dress for his wedding proposal

http://time.com/4636220/beauty-beast-proposal/

This is how Cameron proposed to his wife

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y2d_omjPV8U

Tom Holland defeats some Squirrels (Video included)

http://www.blastr.com/2017-1-18/its-spider-man-star-tom-holland-vs-squirrel-girl-sorta-new-hilarious-video

 

There’s a 7-year-old Spider-Man

https://www.buzzfeed.com/remysmidt/a-7-year-old-said-he-survived-an-accident-because-he-is-spid?utm_term=.xbZ53Mrp2m#.swyyMZ4VOe

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Jan 16, 2017

This week Disney released some more footage of Cars 3 and they are indeed hoping to change the tone of the franchise. Moana is taking a second lap in theaters as a sing-along but it is not Frozen. And Kristen defends Girl Meets World against some harsh criticism. 

 

Here's that interview with Jay Ward, Creative Director for Cars

https://www.cnet.com/roadshow/videos/talking-cars-with-the-pixar-team-behind-cars-3/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+cnet%2FNnTv+(CNET+River+RSS)

 

Here's the article about comparing Moana to Frozen

http://www.forbes.com/sites/scottmendelson/2017/01/09/box-office-disneys-moana-is-no-frozen-but-its-still-a-big-hit/#11b941823542

 

George Lucas is sending a $1 Billion museum to LA

http://www.latimes.com/entertainment/arts/la-et-cm-la-wins-lucas-museum-20170110-htmlstory.html

 

Guardians of the Galaxy and Star Wars Episode 8 Details

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/movies/2017/01/08/2017-must-see-movie-preview-star-wars-beauty-and-the-beast/95949150/

 

Disney is debuting Galactic Nights at its parks

http://www.orlandosentinel.com/travel/attractions/theme-park-rangers-blog/os-disney-star-wars-hollywood-studios-20170111-story.html

 

Here are a few new images of Beauty and the Beast

http://www.gamesradar.com/exclusive-new-beauty-and-the-beast-images-hint-at-the-beasts-backstory/

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

Jan 9, 2017

Disney sets an amazing record for movies in 2017, but did they deserve it? Plus Spider-Man gets a new suit, Belle sings an old song a new way, and we say goodbye to a princess and a fellow Disney podcaster. That and much much more. For the week of January 9, 2017, this is Episode 113 of The Disney Movie Review.

 

Disney got a 4.0 last year

http://www.forbes.com/sites/markhughes/2017/01/04/audiences-give-every-disney-movie-an-outstanding-a-grade-in-2016/#648a6d266645

 

Spider-Man got some suit upgrades from Iron Man

http://m.ign.com/articles/2017/01/05/spider-man-homecoming-disney-reveals-most-important-upgrades-to-spideys-suit

 

We got some new Beauty and the Beast footage.

http://time.com/4624245/new-beauty-and-the-beast-spot/

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Jan 2, 2017

This week we talk about what we think will be the most interesting thing for Disney in 2017

1