Info

The Disney Movie Review

The Disney Movie Review takes a 360 degree look at recent Disney, Pixar, Marvel, and Lucasfilm movies to give a more complete look at what’s going on in the wonderful world of Disney. We dive into the news and rumors and tell our readers and listeners which movies are worth your time and money–and which ones aren’t.
RSS Feed Subscribe in Apple Podcasts
2019
November
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2018
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2017
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2016
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March
February
January


2015
December
November
October
September
August
July
June
May
April
March


Categories

All Episodes
Archives
Categories
Now displaying: August, 2016

The Disney Movie Review is your source for news and reviews on Disney, Pixar, Marvel and Lucasfilm movies. If you love all-things Disney, you've found the place to geek out over Disney movies. Connect with us online on Facebook, follows us on Twitter @DSNYMovieReview, and at our website www.TheDisneyMovieReview.com.

Aug 29, 2016

This week we're talking about character diversity (or lack thereof), a new writer for Dr. Strange and just what does "Rogue One" mean? That and much, much more. For the week of August 29, this is episode 97 of The Disney Movie Review.

My dad is my special guest this week. He's been diagnosed with early onset dementia and doesn't talk much. I apologize for the echo. It was important to me to record an episode with him and I hope you enjoy it. We'll be back to normal next week.

Check out the Slash Film article I spoke about.

http://www.slashfilm.com/spider-man-homecoming-mary-jane-casting/

Just what is going on with Dr. Strange?

http://www.hollywoodreporter.com/heat-vision/doctor-strange-enlists-dan-harmon-922236

What does Rogue One mean?

http://www.empireonline.com/people/ben-mendelsohn/exclusive-rogue-one-gareth-edwards-explains-movie-title/

Check out this "First Look" at the Live-Action Beauty and the Beast.

https://twitter.com/maconodom/status/768769243240402944/photo/1

The top 10 most anticipated movies of the fall

http://www.usatoday.com/story/life/movies/2016/08/24/fantastic-beasts-leads-fandango-most-anticipated-fall-movies/89205544/

Tom is coming back as Loki

http://www.ign.com/articles/2016/08/24/thor-ragnarok-set-photo-reveals-odin-as-a-homeless-new-yorker

Steve Rogers won't be Captain America anymore.

http://metro.co.uk/2016/08/27/russo-brothers-confirm-steve-rogers-will-no-longer-be-captain-america-in-avengers-infinity-war-6093877/

Here's that documentary on Disney's first black animator

http://floydnormanmovie.com/

Marvel has made Disney more than $10.5 Billion at the box office.

http://www.nasdaq.com/article/youll-never-guess-how-much-money-the-marvel-universe-has-grossed-cm670369

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com 

Aug 22, 2016

This week Magic Kingdom officially welcomes a new princess which could change everything for Disney royalty, Disney spends a billion dollars in an effort to fix its ESPN problem and no one seems to care. Now that the Olympics are over, we compare our favorite Olympians to Disney characters. For the week of August 22, this is episode 96 of the Disney Movie Review.

 

Here is princess Elena's "welcoming" ceremony.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9zWRVy6PaCs

Check out more information about Disney's investment in BamTech

http://www.cbsnews.com/news/disney-stock-could-get-some-zip-from-video-streaming/

Casting call for Avengers: Infinity Wars

https://www.backstage.com/casting/128747/

Rumors that Iron Man may be in Dr. Strange.

https://uk.movies.yahoo.com/doctor-strange-lego-set-contains-cool-iron-man-164950033.html

No plans for a Guardians 3?

http://www.ibtimes.com/guardians-galaxy-franchise-could-end-second-movie-director-james-gunn-says-2402822

More bad news for Pirates of the Caribbean 5

http://www.ibtimes.com.au/pirates-caribbean-5-fights-amber-heard-affected-johnny-depps-work-1525869

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

Aug 15, 2016

This week Ed Buskirk joins the show once again for our spoiler review of Pete’s Dragon, Why you probably walked out feeling like you were in a time loop, even though this is nothing like the original. Why did Disney make a movie that they knew could probably lose money? Plus we talk about that new Rogue One trailer that debuted during the Olympics. That and much, much more. For the week of August 15, 2016, this is episode 95 of The Disney Movie Review.

Check out the real book "Elliot Gets Lost"

https://www.amazon.com/Petes-Dragon-Elliot-Gets-Lost/dp/1484750292/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1471045847&sr=1-1&keywords=Elliot+Gets+Lost

Here is the link to the cell phone game "Dragon Spotting."

https://www.dragonspotting.com

Here's some more information on the United States' reforestation efforts

http://education.seattlepi.com/rates-deforestation-reforestation-us-3804.html

Here is the Pete's Dragon trailer

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fPOamb6d_20

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

 

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high-quality content every week.

 

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

Aug 8, 2016

This week, we catch up on some of the Disney news we missed including some of the domestic  and foreign challenges to Disney's entertainment crown and we'll break down some rumours that have been circulating including:

  • Why Captain Jack Sparrow may not be in Pirates 5
  • How Guardians of the Galaxy 2 is changing the Marvel Universe
  • What will make Moana a "different" Disney princess movie
  • A special tribute to the olympics

All that and much, much more. For the week of August 8, this is episode 94 of The Disney Movie Review.

 

Learn more about Wanda's new purchase

http://www.forbes.com/sites/natalierobehmed/2016/07/27/wandas-shopping-spree-continues-with-350-million-purchase-of-movie-website-mtime/#3c5754d38291

 

Rumours for Pirates of the Caribbean 5

http://www.parentherald.com/articles/58800/20160803/pirates-of-the-caribbean-5-dead-men-tell-no-tales-cast-spoilers-last-sail-for-jack-sparrow-new-cast-revealed.htm

 

Moana won't have a love interest

http://www.ew.com/article/2016/07/21/comic-con-moana-panel?xid=entertainment-weekly_socialflow_twitter

 

Get a picture of the U-wing from Rogue One

http://christiantimes.com/article/rogue-one-a-star-wars-story-reveals-a-new-ship-the-u-wing/60229.htm

 

Disney filed for patent to track customer's feet.

http://fortune.com/2016/08/01/disney-obtains-a-patent-to-start-tracking-theme-park-guests-through-their-feet/

 

 

THANK YOU!

Thank you for listening! There are a lot of ways you can spend your time, but you chose to spend time with me and I am very grateful for that. If you enjoyed today’s show, please share it with your friends on your preferred social media site.

You can support The Disney Movie Review by buying a t-shirt at distshirts.com or better yet, submit a design on the site and we will split the profit with you 50/50. It’s the easiest way to make sure I can keep delivering high quality content every week.

If you’ve listened to fewer than five episodes, welcome to Disney Movie Nation! If you like what you hear, visit the website to sign-up for our email list to get more Disney Movie News. If you aren’t a fan, that’s okay too. Find another podcast you love and support the content you love!

Contact me:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DisneyMovieReview

Twitter: @DSNYMovieReview

Buy a shirt: www.distshirts.com

1